Professor Dr Tan Kay Sin

FRCP (Edin), FAMM, MRCP (UK), Dip Med (Hammersmith), MBBS (Melb)


Clinic Schedule and Appointment List

  • Mon 29/06
    Not Available
  • Tue 30/06
    Not Available
  • Wed 01/07
    Not Available
  • Thu 02/07
    15:00 - 16:00
  • Fri 03/07
    Not Available
  • Sat 04/07
    Not Available


Enquiry and Contact Details


Professor Dr Tan Kay Sin graduated from the University of Melbourne, Australia in 1993 and obtained MRCP(UK) in 1997. He underwent postgraduate basic internal medicine and general neurology training in various teaching hospitals in the United Kingdom including Hammersmith Hospital in London, Royal Liverpool University Hospital, Newcastle General Hospital and at the University of Malaya Medical Centre, Malaysia where he served as clinical lecturer until 2005. He was Fulbright Scholar to the United States of America in 2002/3 and underwent a fellowship in Stroke and Neuroultrasound at the Wake Forest University Hospital, Winston-Salem, North Carolina. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh) and a Fellow of the Academy of Medicine Malaysia. He has published widely in peer reviewed journals in neurology and stroke with notable citation indices. His research interests include clinical trials, transcranial Doppler ultrasound and uncommon causes of strokes. He was past President of the Malaysian Society of Neurosciences, a member of the American Academy of Neurology, European Stroke Organization and Asian Stroke Advisory Panel. Professor KS Tan has been awarded numerous prizes in his career in academia to date which include the Certificate of Merit for Discovery of Nipah Virus(University Hospital, 1999), Merdeka Award(2006), Sijil Perkhidmatan Cemerlang(2007), Mahatir Science Award (2008; Academy of Science, Malaysia) and the Lancet Asia Best Poster Prize (2008) for his collaborative work in the area of molecular biology of cerebrovascular ischaemia.


Get to know me better :


The Doctor

Specialises in



Fellowships, Memberships &

Professional Affiliations

  • Member,Curriculum Review Committee, Department Of Medicine, Faculty Of Medicine, 01-Jan-12
  • Faculty of Medicine, Phase 3a MBBS Overall Coordinator, Faculty Of Medicine, 01-Sep-09
  • Quality Manager, Department Of Medicine, Faculty Of Medicine, 01-Jan-02 - 01-Sep-02


Awards and


  • Sijil Perkhidmatan Cemerlang 2011 , University Malaya, 2012, (UNIVERSITY)
  • Merdeka Award , Petronas, Exxon Mobil, Shell, 2008, (NATIONAL)
  • The Lancet Asia Medical Forum 2008 Poster Winner & Certificate of Merit Title: Micro-RNAs as potential biomarkers for cause, diagnosis and prognosis of cerebral ischaemic stroke KS Tan, A Arumugam, CW Wang, SC Chai, J Kandiah , The Lancet, 2008, (INTERNATIONAL)
  • Sijil Perkhidmatan Cemerlang (Excellent Service Certificate), University of Malaya, 2007, (UNIVERSITY)
  • Tun Mahatir Award (as part of Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya), Academy of Science, Malaysia, 2006, (NATIONAL)
  • Fulbright Scholarship Award , Fulbright Foundation, 2002, (INTERNATIONAL)