Pathology Unit in UMSC is divided into two (2) main division which are Anatomic Pathology Division and Medical Laboratory Division.

Besides providing clinical services to University Malaya Specialist Centre (UMSC), the department is also responsible in training tutors and lecturers for MBBS degree, BDS, BBiomedSc and postgraduates courses, Masters in Pathology, Medical Science Masters in Clinical Pathology, Medical Science Masters, medical doctors and philosophical doctors under the Faculty of Medicine, University Malaya.


Anatomic Pathology Division

Anatomic Pathology Division provides diagnostic services in histopathology and cytopathology to UMMC.

Types of services provided by Histopathology Lab are histopathology routine services based on H+E colouring, special colouring, immunohistochemistry, and in-situ hybridization. Histopathology Lab also provides prompt diagnostic services via intraoperative frozen section diagnosis. Clinical and specialist consultant in this division involve in consultation services for hospitals under the Ministry of Heallth and private sectors in kidney biopsy, cardiac transplant, muscles, neurologic and etc.

Gynaecology and non-gynaecology smear test together with Fine Needle Aspiration are among the services provided by Cytopathology Lab. Pathology Specialists conduct Fine Needle Aspiration for UMMC patients of Fine Needle Aspiration Clinic held twice a week.

Medical Laboratory Division

Medical Laboratory Division is responsible in diagnostic services for patients and doctors, conducting researches for techniques in diagnostic tests, disseminating information on services offered to clients of the department. The division also provides continuous advisory and technical training for UMMC student and staff.

The division also provides diagnostic services for Chemical Pathology (clinical chemistry, endocrine, immunology, fluid and excretion, therapeutic drug monitoring, specialised chemistry), Haemathology (routine haemathology, specialised haemathology, coagulation, bone marrow test), Inborn Errors of Metabolism, cytogenetic, molecular genetic, immunogenetic and transplantation.


  1. The Core Laboratory which consists of
    1. Specimen Reception
    2. Routine Clinical Chemistry (RChem)
    3. Fluids and Excretion (F&E)
    4. Routine Haematology (Haem)
    5. Coagulation (Coag)
  2. Special Chemistry (Special Chem)
  3. Endocrinology (Endo)
  4. Immunology (Immuno)
  5. Inborn Errors of Metabolism (IEM)
  6. Toxicology and Trace Elements Analysis
  7. Special Haematology (Sp Haem)
  8. Bone Marrow and Flowcytometry (BM)
  9. Molecular and Genetic Analysis (MGAL)
    1. Cytogenetics
    2. Molecular (Haematology)
    3. Immunogenetics and Transplantation (HLA)
  10. Polyclinic Laboratory (Polylab)
Enquiry Form